The California Building Standards Commission (CBSC) is tasked with the development, adoption, approval, publication, and implementation of California’s building codes. The Commission was established in 1953. The Commission is in the Department of General Services, which falls under the Government Operations Agency.

The CBSC consists of the Secretary of the Government Operations Agency and ten other members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The Secretary of the Government Operations Agency chairs the CBSC. Members hold office until the appointment of their successors, which must occur within 180 days of their term expiring.

The members of the Commission represent different stakeholder groups including:

-design professionals

-the building and construction industry

-local government building officials

-fire and safety officials

-labor officials

-public at large.

Four members on the Commission focus on building construction, including an architect, a mechanical or electrical engineer, a structural engineer, and a licensed contractor. Then three members are appointed from the general public, at least one of whom is a person with physical disabilities. A member from organized labor from the building trades, a member who’s a local building official, and a member who is a local fire official. CBSC members serve without compensation.

You can find the full transcript of the audio in today’s podcast here.